Goat Herd Queen, Morena

dairy goat queenMorena is my beautiful dairy goat herd queen and she is the only doe who is pregnant this year. She is due to kid around May 30th!

Here she is sunbathing on this beautiful Maine morning in her cozy barn. She is a Saanen/Nubian cross who is about 4 years old.

I was able to spend some time making repairs and improvements in the barn and the coop while Mr. Meadow improved the “irrigation” around the property to reduce the ridiculous amount of mud we are facing. It’s been a lovely morning here.

How has your Saturday morning been??

About Meadowfly Farm

I am Che Sweetland, owner of a micro-farm in rural Maine. I feel that traditional dairy goat farming techniques are often not in the best interest of the goats. These farming techniques are not acceptable and need to be changed. Compassionate Farming is my passion! A little over a year ago, I began selling all-natural, handmade goat milk soap that I create with compassionately-farmed milk from my pet goats. I am on a mission to show the world that we can farm compassionately and build a farm that is able to sustain itself financially. I make each of these products with milk that I hand-milk from my goats. I pride myself on the compassionate care of my farm animals first and foremost. I believe that healthy, content animals produce the best quality products. My animals are provided toys and other environmental enrichment in addition to complete nutrition and plenty of human interaction. I am constantly striving to do better and to learn more. I do my best to research and to make the best decisions that I can given my budget and my knowledge. Despite this, and sometimes because of it, I still make mistakes. Comments and suggestions are ALWAYS welcome but please remain courteous.
This entry was posted in Compassionate Farming, Dairy Goats, Homesteading, microbusiness, Microfarming, pregnancy / kidding / freshening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Dory (and I) would like to know your thoughts!